Beth Dawson Elected Chair, Jonathan Barfield, Jr. Vice Chair of New Hanover County Board of County Commissioners

Posted December 14, 2015 at 9:23 pm     Category: Communications & OutreachCounty CommissionersNews Release

New Hanover County, NC  – The New Hanover County Board of County Commissioners today elected Beth Dawson as Chair and Jonathan Barfield, Jr. as Vice Chair.

“It is an honor to serve the citizens of New Hanover County” said Dawson, “and I look forward to continuing to ensure that our community grows and prospers in a meaningful way.”

Dawson was elected to the Board on December 3, 2012 for a four-year term as Commissioner.  She served as the Vice Chair from December 2012 until today.  Dawson has lived in New Hanover County for more than 25 years and is an eleventh generation North Carolinian.  Dawson attended Salem Academy and North Carolina State University.  Prior to being elected to office, Dawson retired as a banker with Bank of America.

Earlier this year, Dawson was recognized by the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners for meeting the requirements for the Master level in the Local Elected Leaders Academy.  The Local Elected Leaders Academy is a partnership with the UNC School of Government, the N.C. Association of County Commissioners and the N.C. League of Municipalities. The Academy offers local elected officials the knowledge and skills needed to lead and govern their communities.  As commissioners increase education and service, they earn credits toward recognition at three levels: Practitioner, Master and Mentor.

Jonathan Barfield, Jr. has been a member of the Board since 2008, and has served as its Chair from December 2010 until December 2011, October 2012 until December 2012, and again from December 2014 until today.  He has also previously served as the Vice Chair twice.

Barfield has been a resident of the New Hanover County since age one and graduated from New Hanover High School in 1984.  He is the owner of Barfield & Associates Realty, LLC and has been a licensed Realtor since 1997.

The term of office for Chair and Vice Chair is one year.



Ruth Smith
(910) 798-7177


« Back to news overview

Communications and Outreach: 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 195 • Wilmington, NC 28403 • Phone 910-798-7461 • Fax 910-798-7277
Skip to content