New Hanover County homeowners to receive additional flood insurance discount

Posted September 6, 2018 at 2:36 pm     Category: News ReleasePlanning and Land Use

New Hanover County, NC – New Hanover County has improved to a Class 7 rating through FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program Community Rating System (CRS), which means eligible homeowners in the unincorporated areas of the county will receive an additional 5% discount on flood insurance premiums in Special Flood Hazard Areas.

Since 2008, the county has scored as a Class 8, which has resulted in a 10% reduction in premiums for flood insurance policyholders. That discount will increase to 15% for new and renewal policies in Special Flood Hazard Areas on or after October 1, 2018, because of the county’s improved rating.

“Since 1991, New Hanover County has participated in this voluntary Community Rating System,” said New Hanover County Planning & Land Use Director Wayne Clark. “We participate because it helps our residents and ensures the county’s floodplain management activities continue to exceed the minimum National Flood Insurance Program standards.”

The CRS program requires annual recertification as well as periodic cycle visits to evaluate the county’s floodplain management activities in four key areas: public information, mapping and regulations, flood damage reduction, and warning and response.

A rating from 1 to 10 is given, with lower scores leading to increased savings for flood insurance premiums. In New Hanover County’s unincorporated area, the Class 7 rating results in an additional $110,148 reduction for homeowners, for a total savings of $346,386 on flood insurance premiums annually.


Release Contact:
Jessica Loeper
Communications & Outreach Coordinator

« Back to news overview

Communications and Outreach: 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 195 • Wilmington, NC 28403 • Phone 910-798-7461 • Fax 910-798-7277
Skip to content