Hurricane Ian Update

New Hanover County is no longer under any storm watches or warnings. Visit EmergencyNHC.com for more information.

New Hanover County services and attractions will resume normal operations on Saturday, October 1. Learn more here.

New Hanover County Board of Commissioners Take Oath of Office, Elect Chair & Vice-Chair

Posted December 3, 2018 at 4:58 pm     Category: County CommissionersNews Release

NEW HANOVER COUNTY, NC – Re-elected Commissioner Rob Zapple and newly-elected Commissioner Julia Olson-Boseman took the oath of office on December 3 during the New Hanover County Board of Commissioners’ regularly scheduled meeting.

Commissioner Zapple has served on the Board of Commissioners since 2014 and Commissioner Olson-Boseman previously served a four-year term on the Board of Commissioners in 2000. Both will serve four-year terms and join Commissioners Jonathan Barfield, Jr., Patricia Kusek, and Woody White on the board.

The board also elected its new chair and vice-chair during the meeting. Commissioner Barfield will serve as the board’s chair, and Commissioner Olson-Boseman will serve as vice-chair until December 2019.

Additional information about the New Hanover County Board of Commissioners, including bios and official portraits, can be found here.


The New Hanover County Board of Commissioners’ regular meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of each month. The meeting schedule, agendas, minutes, and meeting video can be viewed online. Meetings can also be watched live on NHCTV.com, Spectrum channel 13, and Charter channel 5.


Release Contact:
Jessica Loeper, Communications & Outreach Manager

« Back to news overview

Communications and Outreach: 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 195 • Wilmington, NC 28403 • Phone 910-798-7461 • Fax 910-798-7277
Skip to content