New Hanover County Board of Commissioners Vice-Chair Deb Hays Selected to The Hunt State Policy Fellows Program

Posted May 24, 2021 at 3:48 pm     Category: County CommissionersNews Release

NEW HANOVER COUNTY, NC – Today, the Hunt Institute announced the members of its inaugural cohort of the Hunt State Policy Fellows Program, naming New Hanover County Board of Commissioners’ Vice-Chair Deb Hays as one of 28 people selected from across the state.

According to The Hunt Institute, the program aims to provide a bipartisan group of future education policymakers and aspiring state and local elected officials in North Carolina with the resources, space, and expertise needed to develop thoughtful positions on a variety of education policy issues. To do so, The Institute has gathered leaders from across the state including county commissioners, school board members, mayors, city councilors, advocates, and other community leaders.

“I am honored to be chosen as part of this important program, and look forward to engaging with leaders and advocates from across the state about education, public policy, and how we build consensus on behalf of our students,” said Vice-Chair Deb Hays. “I hope this will help further our local efforts to enhance education in New Hanover County, and I plan to bring the things I learn back to our Board of Commissioners and Board of Education to help develop policies and strategies that benefit our schools, families and children well into the future.”

View the official announcement from The Hunt Institute with more information and a list of the inaugural cohort at


« Back to news overview

Communications and Outreach: 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 195 • Wilmington, NC 28403 • Phone 910-798-7461 • Fax 910-798-7277
Skip to content