Commissioner Barfield reappointed to Cape Fear Community College Board of Trustees

Posted September 23, 2021 at 5:17 pm     Category: County CommissionersNews Release

NEW HANOVER COUNTY, NC – New Hanover County Commissioner Jonathan Barfield has been reappointment to the Cape Fear Community College (CFCC) Board of Trustees by Governor Cooper, with a term ending on June 30, 2025. Commissioner Barfield took the oath of office at tonight’s CFCC meeting.

“Cape Fear Community College is doing remarkable things to provide access to our residents, teaching trades, and developing our workforce,” said Commissioner Barfield. “I am honored to have the opportunity to continue serving on this board, helping ensure the college continues its progress in providing equitable access and resources for everyone who seeks to better themselves.”

In addition to serving on the CFCC Board of Trustees, Commissioner Barfield also serves on several other local and state boards and committees. He has also recently been appointed to the National Association of Counties’ (NACo) Transportation Steering Committee, by presidential appointment, to help advance federal transportation legislation, funding and regulation that benefits our local county and region.

Commissioner Zapple Appointed to National Committees

Commissioner Rob Zapple has also recently been appointed to two National Association of Counties’ (NACo) boards and committees through presidential appointments. Those include the Resilient Counties Advisory Board and the Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee.

His work will help develop nation-wide innovative sustainability and resilience initiatives, and enhance environmental health and safety, responsible energy development, and measures to conserve and protect essential natural resources.


« Back to news overview

Communications and Outreach: 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 195 • Wilmington, NC 28403 • Phone 910-798-7461 • Fax 910-798-7277
Skip to content