Burn Ban lifted for unincorporated areas of New Hanover County

Posted December 8, 2021 at 3:21 pm     Category: Fire RescueNews Release

NEW HANOVER COUNTY, NC – New Hanover County officials have lifted the ban on open burning in the unincorporated areas of the county. The local ban was implemented on November 30 in conjunction with a statewide ban issued by the North Carolina Department of Agricultures’ Division of Forestry.

“Because of the rainfall our area has received and following the Division of Forestry lifting its burn ban on our county and 66 others throughout the state, we have also lifted our restrictions effective immediately,” said New Hanover County Fire Rescue Deputy Chief Frank Meyer. “Obviously, we strongly encourage area residents to continue utilizing safe practices if they are going to be burning outside, such as informing neighbors that burning will occur and keeping watch over the fire.”

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor for North Carolina, New Hanover County is now in a moderate state of drought following the recent precipitation.

The City of Wilmington and the towns of Carolina, Kure, and Wrightsville Beach each have their own restrictions on open burning, and the lifting of the burn ban only applied to the unincorporated areas of New Hanover County. Please check with local municipalities regarding their restrictions.

« Back to news overview

Communications and Outreach: 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 195 • Wilmington, NC 28403 • Phone 910-798-7461 • Fax 910-798-7277
Skip to content