New Hanover County recognizes 64 employees for stellar service

Posted December 22, 2021 at 9:33 am     Category: Human ResourcesNews Release

New Hanover County, NC – New Hanover County recently recognized 64 employees with the county’s highest award, the “Five-Star Award.” To attain this honor, these employees have received stellar awards from colleagues and community members in at least four of the county’s shared values, which are professionalism, equity, integrity, innovation, stewardship, and accountability.

“We haven’t been able to hold our annual employee recognition event over the past two years because of the pandemic, so we recently recognized the dedicated employees who had earned a Five Star Award virtually in our monthly town hall,” said County Manager Chris Coudriet. “They are outstanding public servants who make a difference every day in our community, and they always show true compassion and care for those we serve. I am grateful for all they give to our organization and to our residents and I am proud to recognize them for all they do.”

The county’s employee recognition program, called Reach for the Stars, was established in 2014. As part of the program, stellar awards can be given in one or more of the county’s shared values, or as a community service award. Citizens and colleagues can nominate county employees for their outstanding service on the county’s website here.

“Since 2014, there have been 1,554 stellar awards given in our organization and each of those is vetted by our recognition committee and awarded because it is well deserved and well earned,” said Coudriet. “A total of 110 employees have now received the Five Star Award for living and embracing the county’s shared values through their service every day. I encourage our residents to take the time to nominate an employee if they have a noteworthy and exceptional experience, or see the county’s shared values demonstrated under extraordinary circumstances. That recognition is an important part of our culture, and it is especially meaningful when a resident takes the time to acknowledge an employee.”

Learn more about the recognition program and how to submit a nomination at

Employees honored with a Five Star Award were:

  • Josh Abbott, Fire Rescue
  • Trevor Alger, Fire Rescue
  • Jeremy Ashworth, Finance Office
  • Ondina Baranoski, Health and Human Services
  • Gregory Benton, Facilities Management
  • Tiffany Bickel, Health and Human Services
  • Teresa Bishop, Public Library
  • Frank Brunson, Environmental Management
  • Thomas Cardea, Fire Rescue
  • Wayne Chestnut, Fire Rescue
  • Marietta Chewning, Health and Human Services
  • Elizabeth Currie, Health and Human Services
  • Yolanda Daniels, Community Justice Services
  • Janet Davidson, Cape Fear Museum
  • Sean Dwyer, Health and Human Services
  • Margaret Eaton, Health and Human Services
  • Jean Edens, Human Resources
  • Brandon Evans, Environmental Management
  • William Flowers, Fire Rescue
  • Gina Golden, Health and Human Services
  • Steven Greer, Health and Human Services
  • Jeffrey Groszkowski, Fire Rescue
  • William Hall, Fire Rescue
  • Marilyn Howe, Health and Human Services
  • Cory Hugus, Health and Human Services
  • Lindsey Hull, Health and Human Services
  • Levi Hunt, Information Technology
  • Melissa Jackson, Health and Human Services
  • Kasey Jones, Human Resources
  • Jason Jordan, Health and Human Services
  • Timothy Karp, III, Fire Rescue
  • Matt Langley, 911 Communications
  • Charlie Langston, Environmental Management
  • Trina Lewis, Tax Office
  • Angela Lewis, Health and Human Services
  • D. Limberger, Strategy Office
  • Stephanie Limoges, Health and Human Services
  • Paula Marn, Health and Human Services
  • Lauren McConville, Communications and Outreach Office
  • Anna McRay, Emergency Management
  • Sheldon Miller, Fire Rescue
  • Melissa Montroy, Health and Human Services
  • Alice Moore, Health and Human Services
  • Bonita Moore, Health and Human Services
  • Richard Moreau, Fire Rescue
  • Pam Nelson, Health and Human Services
  • Paige Owens, Public Library
  • Neely Poelling, Health and Human Services
  • Clyde Prince, Fire Rescue
  • James Rider, Public Library
  • James Roten, Community Justice Services
  • Juanita Shiver, Tax Office
  • Teresa Smith, Emergency Management
  • LuCinda Smith, Human Resources
  • Steven Still, Emergency Management
  • Christy Thompson, Health and Human Services
  • John Timmerman, Cape Fear Museum
  • Nikki Todd, Health and Human Services
  • Shannon Vaughn, Public Library
  • Marie Walker, Health and Human Services
  • Robert Webber, Environmental Management
  • Gwendolyn Williams, Health and Human Services
  • Anne Wrenn, Health and Human Services
  • Shannon Zickefoose, Register of Deeds


« Back to news overview

Communications and Outreach: 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 195 • Wilmington, NC 28403 • Phone 910-798-7461 • Fax 910-798-7277
Skip to content